191 – Can I Have it or Not?

I bet you can’t tell what my weigh in was this morning…

I have to be honest, being lower carb can be challenging at times. Sometimes I really just want a cookie, or a bite of cake, or some juice. But if there’s anything I have learned along this journey, it’s that you don’t always have to have it just because you want it. I have a 4 year old at home. Trust me, when he wants something and doesn’t get it, the meltdowns can be epic. It’s hard to tell my son no. And I completely understand the emotions he is feeling. He is disappointed, deprived and mad sometimes. I feel the same way when I want something that I know will keep me from my goal. I try not to think of things in terms of “can have” or “can’t have”.

I can have anything I want, but will what I want get me to the goal of getting my weight back down? That’s the mental part of this journey. Recognizing that “all things are permissible, but not all things are beneficial”. (from 1 Corinthians 10:23) Sometimes I have to tell myself that I can always have it tomorrow. And most of the time tomorrow comes, but I no longer want that particular food. Sometimes I still want it and I ask God to help me through.

I saw on the scale that I was back down to 191, my first response? PRAISE THE LORD. One more pound down, one closer to the goal, and with His help, I know it’ll be possible. One day at a time, one meal at a time.

So can I have it? Yes. Should I have it? That’s the question I need to ask, and the choice I get to make.

Happy Thursday!

Blessings,

Kristi

 

 

Leave a Reply

