Mommy of 2, Giving Grace

I am officially the mom of 2. My daughter was born on April 4. I had a homebirth, which I will share more about in a later post, but it was amazing! I am in awe of the ability of the human body to do such an incredible thing. God is so good in how He created us. The kids are doing great. My son loves his little sister, and although we have been dealing with some attitude issues, he is still my sweet little boy. It is amazing to see how much he has grown up in the past couple of months.

I am learning a lot about grace in this season. My son needs discipline, yes, but he also needs grace as he deals with the emotions of no longer being an only child. He needs love and an extra measure of pure grace. I have days where I am so over the attitude, where I want to scream my head off in frustration. In those moments I need grace.

I gained a lot of weight again with this pregnancy. I need to give my body some grace too. My body is powerful and amazing. It brought forth the life of another human and now feeds this little person on a daily basis.

I am back to work full-time with both feet in and at the end of the day, I am exhausted. I have a messy house that drives me crazy, but the moment I get home, I only want to be with my children and husband. The dishes can wait. I need to give myself grace.

God’s grace is the unmerited favor. It is what allows Him to offer us salvation through Christ Jesus. I am thankful for His grace. That when I don’t deserve His love and salvation, He offers it anyway.

So I am trying to apply that to my life.

Grace for my son, means giving him extra mommy time instead of extra timeout.

Grace for my body means giving myself time to adjust to the changes.

Grace for my home means it’s going to be messy sometimes.

Grace for my work means that it may take more time to accomplish the things that I do.

So, here’s the bottom line: I weigh 196 pounds right now. Not my highest weight, and definitely not my lowest. I will get back to my pre-pregnancy weight (153). But right now, I need to give myself grace, and allow it to happen more gradually.

Leave a Reply

