Pinterest Inspiration-The Mustard Seed

I was looking at scripture images on Pinterest and came across one that showed a finger holding a mustard seed. The scripture is in reference to Matthew 17:20 which says, “…. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Now this scripture is in regards to having faith, spiritual faith. But as I read it, I was struck by the realization of how far I’ve come.

I didn’t have much faith in my ability to succeed at this. I actually thought I would fail, like all of the times before. But this time was different. Even though I lacked faith in my ability to succeed, I pursued God in the midst of it and asked (begged) for His help. I had a willingness to give up anything that stood in the way of me, and a healthy weight. If my body is supposed to be a temple for the Holy of Holies God, and if my body is supposed to be used by Him for His glory, then why would anything on this earth be worthy of continuing to eat or do, if it kept me from honoring Him in all that I do? It’s not to say that I couldn’t honor Him before, because I did, but I truly believe that food addiction, and loving food more than Him was at times an idol. I placed my wants for certain tasty things ahead of my need of Him and His presence. He loves me and will save me whether or not I am 130 pounds, that’s not the point. The point is that for me, in my pursuit of Him, I also pursued my health, which I believe gives Him glory. Because I couldn’t have done it without Him.

My faith was not even the size of the mustard seed when I started, but now it is, and I have told the mountain to move, and it’s moving. The biggest mountain, the most difficult physical thing I have ever done. I am almost there.

So what’s your mountain today? What faith do you need to get it to move? Pursue God, and ask Him to stand in the place of your waning faith. Ask Him to be your mustard seed. Watch the mountains move.

Happy Tuesday!

Kristi

Leave a Reply

