Shock and Awe

This week a lot of people have commented in good ways on the weight loss.

I get a lot of the “how did you do it?” or “how much have you lost?”.

To be honest when I non-nonchalantly tell them 120 pounds or so, their mouths hit the floor.

I am in shock and awe at how far I have come. I wonder sometimes what people see when they see me. Not in a bad way, but because I can only see a reflection of myself in a mirror, I wonder what I look like to them.

Do I look too skinny? Do I look healthy? Do I still look like me? Am I more confident? Less confident?

At the end of the day, what they think doesn’t matter. It’s more of a mild curiosity I have. Have you ever wanted to be able to see through the eyes of another person? Maybe I am weird like that. Would I feel the same shock and awe if I saw me as well?

I think the greatest joy is being able to inspire others who want to walk this walk. I think it’s easier for someone who has always been a healthy weight to say “well, this is what I do, and I am skinny” versus someone who can say, “I was obese once too. I felt the hunger you feel. I felt the cravings. I ached like you ache. I was tired like you are tired”. I can identify with them where they are at. And because I did most of this journey by changing my eating habits, I can also tell people who can’t exercise because of some physical disability, that they can do it too if they change what they eat.

I love being able to inspire others along their journey. My friend at work who has been walking this walk for a few months now looks and feels fantastic. More importantly than that, her cholesterol is going down for the first time in her adult life. No amount of medication could do what giving up wheat has done for her. Her doctors are in awe.

What are you doing today to help yourself along your journey?

Happy Friday!

Blessings,

Kristi

2 thoughts on “Shock and Awe

  1. I have often thought the same way wondering what I look like in other people’s eyes. I have just started the wheat free life. Enjoy reading your post.

  2. Cathy, what a great decision! Let me know if you have any questions about what to do. Take it one day at a time. Blessings! Kristi

Leave a Reply

