Paleo Challenge Mid-Month Update

I have really been enjoying the Paleo Challenge this  month. Thanks to the extra chocolate and candy I ate over the holidays, I was fluctuating between 156 and 158. At the beginning of the challenge, my weigh in was 158. This wasn’t the worst it could’ve been, considering most people gain 10-15 pounds for Christmas and New Years. But today, I am happy to report that I have not been munching on candy at work (definitely a downfall of mine), and I am back down to 154!!

Yay. Now on to the goal.

You may be asking what do I eat on Paleo. I don’t share the specifics of my food all that much, but I hope this gives you an idea of my brand of Paleo as of right now.

For breakfast, I like to have eggs cooked in coconut oil and a piece of fruit.

For lunch I eat chicken, steak or pork from the night before, along with either a salad with a homemade vinagrette, or grilled or roasted veggies. The veggies are typically summer squash, broccoli, onions, peppers, or cauliflower, or some combination of all of the above.

Dinner is some variation of what I just posted for lunch.

I also have another piece of fruit usually, sometimes I include a sweet potato or yam at dinner.

On weekends I enjoy a Paleo Pancake with a little maple syrup, and a piece of all-fruit fruit leather as well. 

Of course for the moment I am avoiding Paleo goodies and it’s not the easiest thing to do.

As a family, I think this is helping all of us to see our food triggers, and areas where we have created some bad habits. I think it will also help me to stay on track toward the goal. Seriously. Only 24 pounds left to go. Can I stay 100% Paleo until the goal? I am not sure. I may need to allow myself a little planned non-Paleo item once a week, but the fun part is that it can be something to look forward to, and then I can choose whether or not to enjoy it at the time I allow it.

I hope you are having a blessed Wednesday!

Kristi

Leave a Reply

