Quick Veggie Beef Soup

Here’s the thing, I am not following the recipes in the Jumpstart to Skinny Book. I am creating recipes and meals with the foods we already have at home. Tonight I created an exceptional quick and easy soup for dinner, and I thought I would share.

So here it is:
1 cup kitchen basics chicken stock-20 calories
0.5 cup water
1/4 tsp salt
1 clove garlic minced
Rosemary and Pepper to taste
Red pepper flakes for a little spice
1 stalk celery
2 tbsp chopped green onion
7-10 asparagus stalks cut into chunks
4oz 80/20 ground beef-286 cals

Total calories-306

So what did I do? Cooked the ground beef and chopped the veggies while it was cooking. Measure the water and broth and pour into a saucepan. I added the garlic, salt, pepper and rosemary and veggies to the broth and put it on medium heat. When the beef was done, I drained the fat, and added the meat to the saucepan. Reduce to a simmer, serve and eat.

Some things to note:
1. Yes this goes a little over Bob’s recommended calories per meal. You can fix that by using leaner ground beef.
2. The calorie count does not include that of the veggies because on this plan, the ones I used are on Bob’s free list.
3. I understand there are not many carbs in this meal aside from the small amount that are in the veggies.
4. You could eat only half of it, and then add in a piece of fruit if you would prefer. But this blog is about me, and I ate the whole thing.

I hope you enjoy. Please don’t use this recipe on your blog or other sites without permission.

Thanks!
Blessings, and Happy Friday!
Kristi

Leave a Reply

