Overcoming and PLATEAUS

It’s hard to express how awesome this walk has been. It’s hard to describe the incredible feeling of overcoming obesity. There. I said it. I am an overcomer. I will never be obese again. I look at myself in the mirror and sometimes I see a fat woman staring back at me.

But when I look again, I see something new. I see this woman, and I think, “who is she?” “How did I get this far?”.

I look at my before pics, (which by the way are SOOOOO important to staying on course.) and then I look at me now, and I am just amazed at how the Lord has brought me this far. While I would love to be at my goal weight right now, I am thankful that the journey has taken me this long. There is a certain level of knowing that I will never go back to being obese. The habits I have created are just that, habits. I don’t even think about it anymore, and that is a huge accomplishment.

My life is forever changed. With that said, I have gotten myself a little too comfortable where I am at. I fluctuate from 165-167, and have had a VERY hard time feeling motivated into “weigh-loss” mode. I am good at maintaining. Now it’s time to lose again. It’s time to drop the last 35 pounds to my goal.

What’s the plateau breaking plan, you ask? Well, this one is not low-carb, it’s not HCG, it’s not to kill myself at the gym, I am doing the “Jumpstart to Skinny” plan by Bob Harper. Yes I hate gimmicks. I hate short term diets that are cabbage soup, or eat only veggies, or something else of the sort. This one is not like that.

To get the full plan, you would have to pick up a copy of the book, but basically, it’s a 3-week plan meant to get an individual to a goal in a short amount of time. It is not a long-term solution. After finishing the Jumpstart, you can transition into Bob’s “Skinny Rules” if you don’t know how to maintain.

Why did I choose this route? Well, I decided I was at a point that I was having a hard time doing it by myself, and so I am looking to an “expert” for help. And since I cannot afford to have Bob come to my house and train me himself, I found that this option fit well with my lifestyle and time constraints.

It’s part diet, part exercise. And the great thing about the exercise is that it can be done at home and it’s simple. I like simple. A lot. 45 minutes of walking/day, which they recommend to get in before breakfast (I split it into 3-15 minute chunks because it works well with my schedule), and then 5 days a week, you do 15-20 additional minutes of one of the routines he has in the book. The diet…pretty restricted, but what would you expect for a short-term diet meant to drop 20 pounds in 21 days? Yup. 20 pounds. If I could just drop 10 I would be elated! Now, while the diet is restrictive, I have found that I can still get a tasty variety of food, and I have not found myself to be overly hungry so far. I am on day 2.

I am tracking all my food and calories on this one, in addition to my exercise. Yup. I am counting calories. Bob would be so proud. After Week 1, I will post my results so far. Weight lost, how I feel, etc.

But it’s only 3 weeks. I told myself when I gave up wheat that it was only for a month. Just 1 month commitment. So this, it’s only 3 weeks.

Here’s to overcoming!
Blessings,
Kristi

Leave a Reply

