Friday Weigh-In: 171.6

So I am making some great headway this month! I am now 171.6, and it has been a looong time coming. In less than 2 pounds, I will be in the 160’s, I am hoping to get there by the end of next week.

I don’t talk much about the specifics of what I am doing on this blog, so I am going to start sharing some of my daily menus to give you a better idea of what I eat from day to day…since the reality is that I still don’t really “exercise”. Stayed tuned for links to some of my favorite recipes and some of my created recipes.

I got to chat with a lady the other day who had asked me what I did to lose the weight. It was really great to share with her my progress and some of my struggles in the midst of it. You see, she now has diabetes. And my heart breaks for her because you can just see how discouraged she is. I know that discouragement. I was there. I cried my tears of sadness over the choices I made to get myself so big. It’s not easy to try something new. It’s not easy to have your mind changed and transformed when you’ve had a lifetime of doing things a certain way.

No this is not a fast process.

Yes I wish I could wave a magic wand and be 130 pounds already, but this is a transforming process.

The idea of eating bread and pasta and bagels makes me feel gross just thinking about it. And heavy. Why would I go back?

So today is an ode to the me who used to be. The scared, frustrated, discouraged woman who wanted nothing more than to be a healthy weight and to look and feel good in her body. You were beautiful then, just as you are beautiful now.

This is an ode to making hard choices because they are the right things to do even when everyone around you thinks you are crazy.

This is an ode to making lifelong changes as opposed to going on a diet. This is NOT a diet. This is how I eat so that I can be the best me possible. It is not temporary, it is not unhealthy. My body gets everything it needs (and sometimes a little extra).

This is an ode to those who are scared to start. They are scared they will fail miserably and just end up where they are now.

This is an ode to those who need a moment of encouragement to keep going. You have succeeded already because you started. Look at how far you have come. Keep pushing toward the goal, even if you have to crawl.

This is an ode of thankfulness to God for sustaining me each day, showing me that I am valuable, that I have a purpose, and that being fat or thin doesn’t make me any less in His eyes.

This is an ode to you. What’s your story? What encouragement do you need today?

Happy Friday!
Blessings,
Kristi

Leave a Reply

