Secrets of Weight Loss

In the past 2 days, I have had people tell me how skinny I look. One comment was that the person had a hard time recognizing me because of it, the other person asked me, “What’s your secret”.

I love this question.

I really do.

I am not being even a little bit sarcastic. I really love it when they ask me that. They want to know. I want to tell them. It gives me the opening I need to tell them how great it is being wheat free.

I get to tell them that I DON’T spend hours at the gym, in fact, I don’t go to the gym at all. Aside from some jumping jacks, push-ups and walking, my exercise is still limited.

I get to tell them that I don’t count calories religiously. (okay, sometimes, I do put in my calories for a certain meal, or a day or two, but it’s just to see) I don’t fret about mamking sure my calories are exactly 1200 or 1500 or even 1700 per day. I just eat.

I eat until I am full and satisfied, but not stuffed (most of the time, although occasionally, I indulge a little too much, and I feel stuffed).

I eat vegetables, as many as I want.

I eat fruit, as many as I want (which is usually far less than my veggie intake)

I eat meat, as much as I want. I even eat fatty meat. I eat bacon. I love bacon. I don’t eat it everyday…but if I could justify it, I might.

Sometimes I eat icecream or a gluten free treat (cookie, bread for sandwich, etc.)

I drink water. Lots of water.

I drink almond milk 1-2 times per day.

Right now I am watching my dairy, and not eating any, except the occasional piece of cheese or icecream.

I eat rice once in a while (1-2 times/week).

I cook with olive oil and coconut oil.

I eat a minimal amount of other sauces especially if they contain sugar, corn syrup or high fructose corn syrup (grain derivatives)

I don’t watch much TV. I stay fairly active at home running around with an almost 2 year old.

I thought I would phrase my “secrets” in a positive light. So often we are told don’t do this and don’t do that, so the question left is, well then what can I do? What can I do to be healthy?

I won’t lie and tell you that this has been the easiest thing to do. I won’t tell you that you can go back once you get to whatever goal it is you have set. I won’t tell you that this is a quick process. I won’t tell you that the road is simple. The road is filled with trials and challenges. The road is filled with heartache and frustration. You will have to face your demons. You will have to face the root of the problem. Food and being obese is never the actual problem. It is the symptom of the problem. There is always a deeper issue. In order to be successful, you have to face the issue, whatever the issue might be.

The most important lesson I have learned, my real secret is Christ. He is my daily salvation. When I feel stressed, hurt, anxious, frustrated, I can turn to Him for comfort, wisdom, peace and healing. This journey has been a healing journey for me. I could not have gotten to where I am right now without Him. He is my all in all. I don’t have to turn to food. I don’t have to hide under a fat suit. I can be open and vulnerable. I can be the woman God created me to be. I am a work in progress. I know He loves me, and because of Him, I can love back.

I pray God gives you the strength to face your demons, and to slay them once and for all.
Blessings
-Kristi

One thought on “Secrets of Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

