I Jogged Today

It might seem like a simple statement. It might seem like nothing. But to me, this means a lot. Last night I bought a new pair of workout shorts. There’s something motivating when you feel like the clothes you are wearing while you are working out aren’t just something you have to wear because you are too fat to wear anything else. These shorts were selected to do a specific task. They were chosen. Seems silly, but when I put them on this morning to go for a 1.3 mile jog in the chilly spring weather, I felt like a runner. I felt like someone who was fit, and strong and capable. And even though I stopped to walk for about half of my jog (off and on mind you), I still felt great.

Spring is a time of growth. New life. And change. Not the governmental same kind of change we always see no matter whose in office, but real true transformation. Like my last post stated, I am being transformed. Not just physically. Each pound I lose is helping me to shed the baggage I have carried for almost 30 years. The average skinny person doesn’t understand that being fat isn’t simply about eating less and exercising more. My body isn’t just a physical body. If it were it would simply be that. But I am also a spiritual and emotional being and to get this big comes with a whole host of swirling emotions. There’s the “what if I get thin and no one likes me?”, the “what if I fail?” (we talked about that one in a previous post), the what if….well what if??? Blah blah blah. I can’t say that this is easy. I wish it were. I wish I could say this is the easiest thing I have ever done. But it’s not. Healing is one of the most difficult things I have ever embarked on. But it’s the most freeing.

Each pound I shed is like saying goodbye. The Lord is helping me with each step I take. As new emotions are uncovered He is healing the wounds which have lain under layers and layers of fat. I feel vulnerable and scared at times. But I have hope. A new beginning. A new me. A new life in Christ. I can do anything through Jesus Christ who strengthens me…even this.

I jogged today. What did you do?

Blessings,

Kristi

Leave a Reply

