Clean House, Wheat Free

I have a confession to make (my mom would be so proud). I hate cleaning. Don’t get me wrong, I love a clean house, but the actual act of getting it clean is about as enjoyable as a root canal. It’s not on my list of 5 things I want to do before I die.

So I gave up wheat last week, you know this if you’ve been following my blog. My withdrawal symptoms have been relatively mild; headache (reminiscent of caffeine withdrawal), tired (but well, thats not new considering I have an 8 month old who wakes up once or twice a night), and a little bit of nausea and one day of um…bathroom issues. I am told they should only last about a week. My diet hasn’t changed too much. I still eat meat, veggies, fruit, grains (just not wheat) and even a little bit of chocolate. I don’t eat well, anything that has wheat in it.

So what does wheat have to do with me hating to clean my house you ask? Well, let me share. My problem with cleaning is generally a lack of motivation and pain. There’s too many dishes or there’s so much laminate and its hard to get clean with our broom, or theres too much stuff to dust. It’s just not fun. It’s not enjoyable to me. Plus, when I do a deep cleaning my back starts to hurt early in to it and I am just aching the next day. This adds to my dislike of cleaning. Well, last night, I cleaned my livingroom dining room and kitchen. I didn’t do it because I had to. I didn’t do it because I felt so frustrated with the little messes that I just sucked it up and did it. I didn’t do it because anyone told me to. I cleaned my house because I wanted to, and I liked it. There. I said it. I enjoyed cleaning yesterday. I started making dinner and while it was cooking I was working on dishes and the counters and clearing the dining room table. The baby was playing in the living room, and I generally enjoyed myself. I only got a little achy in my lower back from standing at the sink and stove for so long, and it was great.

So what does wheat have to do with me cleaning my house you ask? I don’t know. I just attribute the extra energy, motivation, and lack of pain to giving up everyone’s favorite grain…wheat. So call is coincidence or anecdotal, but I believe that somehow they are related.

Have a blessed day!

One thought on “Clean House, Wheat Free

  1. Pingback: So You Want to Give up Wheat?-130×30 guide to Wheat Elimination | 130 x 30

Leave a Reply

