Food Friday::Variety or Not??

One complaint I have heard about “dieting” is the lack of variety. As if somehow having a burger and fries for dinner every night constitutes variety…Or eating icecream for breakfast…I think our perspective on variety is a little skewed. I am discovering more and more how much I like to eat foods that are good for me.

I recently heard an idea that being boring for your meal choices can actually be a good thing. Let me explain. Let’s say you have 2-3 different breaksfast menus that you cycle through, 2-3 lunches, dinners, snacks, etc. What if Monday-Friday, you only ate off of those 2-3 menus for each meal? Then on the weekends you could incorporate some wild and exciting foods that you don’t normally have. Each meal should incorporate a VARIETY of fruits and veggies, while lean meat, dairy, and whole grains are consumed once/day. It’s an interesting thought. To say consciously: “I want my meals to be boring”. This doesn’t mean you don’t eat tasty foods, it just means that on a day-to-day basis you select the same meals.

Look at what you eat now…I doubt you really eat THAT much variety. I know I don’t. I have my quick and easy stand-bys, a few favorite recipes that I cycle through, and my favorite healthy snacks. I may not eat the same menu all month, but from week to week, it’s pretty basic. I recently started eating more salad. I actually like salad. I always aim to make it bright and colorful, not just green. I also try and add in some protein with nuts, and some excitement with dried fruit. Sounds gourmet right? By eating a variety of vegetables and fruits, I know my body is getting the nutrients it needs. Although I am not eating as much food as I used to, the quality of food is so much greater that I feel satisfied.

I guess my point is that your definition of “variety” needs to change. I know mine did. I now look at all the tasty things I choose to eat, and I know these will benefit me in my quest to reach 130 by the time I am 30.

Blessings and Happy Friday!

Kristi

2 thoughts on “Food Friday::Variety or Not??

  1. Hi, I couldn’t agree more! And I also think that dieting requires that you understand that we are hard-wired to like sugar, cream, and oils. Recipes with large amounts of these taste good but aren’t good for us. I find I have to expand my “wiring” to recognize the genuinely good flavour of foods that are different. Claire

    • Claire,
      It’s so true. The amazing thing though is that our bodies can change. So even though we may have trained our bodies to desire, oils, sugars, fats, etc…it can be re-trained! Thanks for stopping by! I will be sure to check out your blog as well. It looks like it has some great content!
      -Kristi

Leave a Reply

