Tuesday Tip::Take Care of the Things You have Been Avoiding

When’s the last time you went to the dentist? Or had a physical? Or did something that you knew you had to do, but you have been avoiding it for one reason or another…? Yesterday I went to the doctor for a physical. Yup. I had a physical. Clearly I know my weight is an issue. The PA that I saw didn’t seem to quite grasp the fact that yes I know I am obese, and I am here to get some help…hmmm…should have seemed obvious…but I guess not. It was good for me to get my stats, and other than my weight, I don’t have any other health issues. I have to go in for some bloodwork, but after that, I have a clean bill of health to get to a healthy weight. I was hoping that she would give me some sort of a basic eating plan or some sort of tool to helo me on my journey. To be honest, when all she could say was “well Weight Watchers seems to be the most successful program out there, try that” I was a little annoyed. What if I can’t afford Weight Watchers? (I can’t) What if I don’t know a thing about how to eat healthy? (I know enough to be dangerous) It’s a good thing I scheduled a follow-up appointment with a doctor that specializes in obesity, nutrition and weight management. Maybe she can actually give me some practical tool to help me on my way.

After that appointment, I came back to work, and then left for the dentist. Yup. The dentist. I haven’t been in 5 years. We have been paying for it for 5 years. It’s time to get my money’s worth. Apparently things look great except for 1 of my molars. It needs a crown. Sad. Goodbye tooth that already has a massive filling, and hello fake tooth. IT was funny, the doctor said I could choose between a white cap or a gold one. I laughed. Then said I wanted the white one. Could you imagine me with a gold cap on my tooth looking like some sort of rapper, gangster, or boxer? (my stereotype of professions of people who like gold caps) Haha. had to laugh.

The moral of the story is that, no matter how bad you think it’s going to be to do the thing you have been avoiding, it’ll only get worse the longer you avoid it. I have avoided a physical and dentist for years. I am thankful that it’s not as bad as it could have been, and that I finally care. About me. And my health. I hope you can find time, money, energy, whatever it is you need to take care of the thing you have been avoiding.

Blessings and Happy Tuesday!

Kristi

Leave a Reply

