Thursday Thoughts::Attitude Adjustment

I think sometimes that in order to succeed there needs to be an attitude adjustment. Mainly mine. Dealing with challenging people at work, and dealing with cranky people at the gym shows me who I do NOT want to be like. Then what are my options? Who can I be like, and be the person I desire to be? How can I adjust my attitude to be more kind, giving, loving, and to care for myself in a healthy way?  How can I see myself and my world differently?

Simple.

Jesus.

In 1 Corinthians 11:1 Paul says to “follow me as I follow Christ”. Wow. What an incredible statement. To be more like Jesus. To “be Holy as I am Holy” (Leviticus 11:44). To know God, but then to be transformed by the renewing of your mind (Romans 12:2). Is it possible? The bible says it is. The bible says that Jesus is the way the truth and the life and no one comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:6). His way is right and true. And His is the attitude to have.

I feel frustrated in so many ways. Frustrated with myself and how I look (yes I know, a little vain), feeling unworthy, or less than par, feeling of self-doubt and feelings of fear. Maybe I can’t do this. Maybe tomorrow I will just quit. But I know that God sees me differently. He sees me as a precious child of His, whom He loves and adores. In Psalms there’s a prayer that says for God to keep me as the apple of His eye, to hide me under the shadow of His wings (Psalm 17:8). He loves me and wants to protect me, but I need an attitude adjustment. I need to follow Christ’s example in a way that causes me to see myself through His eyes.

No matter what my size, no matter what my sins, I know I can repent, turn to God, and He can transform my mind so that I see what He sees. Beauty. His precious creation. And then He can adjust my attitude.

Blessings!

Kristi

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts::Attitude Adjustment

  1. WOW! It is fabulous that have decided to take on this journey. It will be hard work, but through christ we can do anything! Good luck to you! I will be following your journey!
    ~kechi~

    • Kechi,
      THanks for stopping by and joining me on my journey! It has not been an easy start, but I have something that I have never had before: A determination and belief that I can do this. Once and for all, I can no longer be obese. Ever. Again.

Leave a Reply

