Encouragement, Exercise, Challenges, Excuses

I love having people around me who encourage me everyday. One of my co-workers was commenting on how impressed she is with how well I have been eating, and the good choices I have been making while at work. She said that my hard work is starting to show. I have also given her and another lady I work with, the right to ask me how I am doing. They are allowed to comment if I decide to drink multiple sodas at our business luncheons. They both know my goals. They both know how determined I am. And they both really care about me. So my team of cheerleaders is continuing to grow.

Yesterday at lunch, one of the ladies and I decided to go for a walk. It was warm, breezy, sunny, and gorgeous. By the end I was huffing and puffing and sweating just a bit. The awesome thing about where we work, is that there are trails right outside. It was wonderful. I feel so blessed and encouraged.

When I conceived this 130×30 thing in my head, I knew I had to take it slow. I had to start making decisions that I knew would propel me in the right direction. I had to make incremental decisions that I knew I could live with. Not just until I get to 130, but for the rest of my life. The first thing I did was getting rid of flavored beverages. That was a month ago. I rarely drink anything besides water now. The next thing was my “diet”. What food am I going to put in my mouth. Somedays are easier than others, but the most immediate goal was to add more fruits and veggies. If I am eating more of the good stuff, it leaves less room for the junk. Next goal: Add in exercise. Right now this one is the hardest. I keep coming up with excuses, and the truth is, I don’t believe them anymore.

I want to feel good about my body, and feel like it is strong, but I feel so weak. Physically. Because of my leg. Honestly it’s my biggest and lamest excuse right now. But it really is a problem. Can you imagine trying to exercise with a numb leg? It is hard. My other muscles get really sore because they have to compensate, and it is a challenge. I continue to pray that the nerve will come back to life. In the meantime, the physical therapy exercises have been helpful. I am not as weak as I was a month ago. And in a month from now I will be even stronger. But the only way to get stronger is to exercise. I have done a few things this week, but I know I need to kick it up a notch. So here goes. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Comments? Anything would be helpful.

Have a Blessed day!

Kristi

Leave a Reply

