Thursday Thoughts::On being Obese

I read an article today that talked about the continued rise in obesity in the USA. The title of the article is, “U.S. Obesity Epidemic Continues to Spread” and can be found here. I think it’s interesting that we are so concerned about flu epidemics and AIDS epidemics, and yet we are so blind to the greatest and most preventable epidemic of all…Obesity. Yes I said it again. Obesity. It sounds like a bad word. It’s like a four-letter word that no one really wants to say. Did you know that in Mississippi 34.4% of people are obese? I didn’t. Obesity is such an urgent and important thing to consider, and yet all too often we (myself included) so often look the other way.

I often fall into the trap of, “Well, I am not as fat as that person”, or “I don’t have any obesity related illnesses, so I am doing ok”. It’s silly. I might be obese right now, but that doesn’t make me less of a person. I think I said it before, it just means I ate too much and exercised too little. The great thing about that is this: I can make a new choice. Today. Right now. I can choose a salad instead of french fries. I can choose to take the stairs instead of the elevator, and I can, one step at a time, one choice at a time, build a healthy future for myself.

Because its about me. It’s not about that person who is fatter than me. It’s about me and my life. What kind of life do I want? I don’t want to be 40 or 50, and have a hard time walking because the weight has put so much pressure on my knees that I can barely walk. I don’t want to end up with major back problems caused by carrying around an extra 100 pounds. I want to walk and run and jump and dance. I want to keep up with my son, and possibly more children. I want a full life. I can have that. Obesity is a temporary physical state. And like ice can melt into water, I can be transformed into a smaller, healthier version of me. It’s going to take work, and time. But I will not be numbered amongst the 19.8 percent of obese people in Colorado. I will be numbered among those that used to be.

Have a Blessed Evening,

Kristi

Leave a Reply

