Tuesday Tip #3::Make a Game Plan

“Those who fail to plan, plan to fail”

One of the biggest needs when embarking on a new course of action for your life, is having a game plan. Imagine a football team going to the Superbowl, and not having a plan. Imagine the quarterback saying, well, we’ll just figure it out when we get on the field. It seems kind of silly right?

So now, imagine that food and overeating and indulging are the team to beat. How would you set out to beat that team? What kind of a plan would you make? What kind of plays would you make that you know would be unbeatable? How can you be unstoppable in your journey?

How can I be unstoppable in mine?

Yesterday was the 4th of July. We had a BBQ at my house. Imagine burgers, hotdogs, chips, soda, desserts, dip…an overeaters dream. It was hard for me. I wanted to enjoy my day, but I didn’t want to end up with a 3000 calorie day either. So here was my game plan.

1. Eat a small breakfast and a snack before the BBQ.

2. Eat lots of veggies. No dip.

3. Drink only 1 small cup of lemonade. Then fill cup with water.

4. Count out 1 serving of chips. Enjoy.

5. Eat 1 burger. 1 hotdog (no bun). As a side note, my husband is awesome and actually weighed the meat before he pressed it into patties. Exactly 4oz. Delicious, lean ground beef.

The verdict? I didn’t stuff myself to the brim. I didn’t go over 2000 calories for the whole day. I enjoyed the time with family and friends without worrying and obsessing about food. It was wonderful. Yesterday, I beat the other team.

So the moral of the story is. You have to have a plan. Plan,plan,plan. The plan doesn’t have to be extensive, just know what you want before you get there and do your best to stick to it. There will be temptation, and there will be challenges. I know sometimes I will give in to the temptation. But, the Bible says in 1 Corinthians 10:13- “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” There is always a way out of eating too much. It may be as simple as dumping the contents of your plate in the trash. Or positioning yourself away from the food at a party. But if i plan ahead, I will know what temptations may come against me, and I can make an escape plan so that I succeed.

I know I want to weigh 130 lbs. Without any plan, I will never make it. But with a well thought out plan. I will succeed and crush the other team. Forever.

God Bless you in your journey as well.

Kristi

Leave a Reply

